Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. Isaiah 43:18-19 NIV

But forget all that—it is nothing compared to what I am going to do. For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland. Isaiah 43:18-19 NLT

Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert. Isaiah 43:18-19 NKJV

Isaiah is giving the children of Israel a very important message. God’s voice flows through him recounting the amazing things that God has done for Israel, His chosen people and reminds them of their failings. But even though they have failed God, God has not failed them.

He tells them the story again of the miracles and wonders He has done in their lives and, as if that wasn’t enough, God tells them to forget all that because He is going to go further. He tells them that yesterday’s gone.

Our magnificent God of the universe brings an amazing message to Israel and to us today. The message is that “Yes, I have done amazing things for you in the past. Yes, you have failed me. But all of that is now in the past. I am the God of today, not yesterday. Forget the past and watch what I am doing now and will do for you next because yesterday’s gone.”

You see, God does not dwell on the past. His mercy and grace is renewed every day. No matter how much you have failed, God has never filed you. No matter how many great things He has done for you, He will do more for you.

He tells us to look at the new thing He is doing in our lives and He asks, “Don’t you get it yet? Yesterday is gone!” God’s mercy and grace are never-ending. He offers us His love, friendship, and guidance unconditionally. How we choose to respond to that determines whether we receive His blessings or not. It is strictly up to the individual as to whether or not to receive His grace and accept it. The gift is there for the taking.

This is the first day of 2017. As I look back on 2016, I see the marvelous things God has done for me, personally. I also see the stupid things I have done and the ways I have hurt Him with my sin. Now it is time to let go of the past. Not just 2016, but every yesterday. God calls us to live today, this hour, this moment for Him and to only rely on His grace and mercy. If we do that, watch what He can do in all of our tomorrows.

Will you continue to dwell on the past?

What are you expecting from God in the present and future?

