Have mercy on me, O God,

because of your unfailing love.

Because of your great compassion,

blot out the stain of my sins.

Wash me clean from my guilt.

Purify me from my sin.

Psalm 51:1-2

 

As soon as King David realized that he had sinned, he quickly humbled himself in prayer asking for forgiveness.

As Christians, we are forgiven, not perfect and we do sin.

Let’s follow David’s example and quickly ask for forgiveness.

Note that he not only asks God to blot out the stain of his sins but he also asks to be washed clean from guilt.

Even after we have sinned and asked for forgiveness we sometimes go on feeling guilty for our past.

God’s grace has cleaned us. We do not have to bear the burden of a guilty conscience.

That is the freedom we have in Jesus Christ. He took our sin, past, present and future, and paid for it through His death.

Guilt is that tool that Satan uses to make us question God’s grace and mercy.

It is up to us to reject that tool and rely on God’s mercy that is renewed every day toward us and to live free from that guilt.

